Colombia will no longer co-host the Copa America 2021 due to political unrest

Colombia will no longer co-host this summer’s Copa America with Argentina, Conmebol has announced.

Hosting duties were due to be shared between Colombia and Argentina for the first time in the tournament’s 105 year history with the final due to be played in Barranquilla.

However, widespread protests against the Colombian government have caused widespread disruption, including at Copa Libertadores matches, leading Conmebol, the South American Football Confederation, to change hosting plans.

Colombians Strike As Duque Calls for Armed Forces Deployment
Protests have caused disruption across Colombia | Vizzor Image/Getty Images

The Colombian Football Federation had initially requested the tournament, due to take place between 10 June and 13 July be delayed until November but this was rejected by Conmebol, who deemed it “impossible” to change the schedule.

The BBC quote Conmebol as saying: “We guarantee the realisation of the 2021 Copa America and in the coming days will inform on the relocation of those games that were to be held in Colombia.”

In addition, the remainder of the continental cup games (Copa Libertadores) that were due to be held in the country have now been moved to Paraguay and Ecuador.

Argentina have offered to become the sole hosts of the Copa America but as things stand, they are in a strict lockdown until May 31 due to a recent wave of coronavirus cases, which could prove to be problematic.

Brazil v Peru: Final - Copa America Brazil 2019
Brazil are the current holders after their triumph in 2019 | Kaz Photography/Getty Images

The protests taking place in Colombia have come in response to a controversial tax plan the current government are looking to implement, while a number of sporting events have already been impacted.

Despite the government pulling the plug on their proposed tax plan, demonstrations have continued due to a number of other issues which include police brutality, a lack of opportunities for young people and low wages.

Brazil are the current holders of the competition having won the trophy back in 2019.

Source of the article

Author: XenBet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *