EURO 2020 final: when and where is it?

UEFA EURO 2020 will be held across 11 host cities from 11 June 2021, but both semi-finals and the final will be held at Wembley Stadium in London.

The UEFA EURO 2020 final takes place on Sunday 11 July 2021, kicking off at 21:00 CET. It was originally scheduled for 12 July 2020 before the tournament was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Wembley will also host the semi-finals on Tuesday 6 and Wednesday 7 July.

Celebrity Football At The New Wembley Stadium
There’s expected to be a big crowd at Wembley for the final | Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

The old Wembley Stadium – which was demolished in 2002 – hosted the EURO ‘96 decider. Germany were crowned European champions for a third time thanks to Oliver Bierhoff’s golden goal against the Czech Republic.

Thirty years prior to that, England’s 1966 FIFA World Cup triumph culminated at Wembley, the Three Lions beating West Germany 4-2 after extra time to lift the trophy on home soil.

In club competition, Manchester United (1968) and Liverpool (1978) have won two of the seven European Cup showpieces to have been held at the stadium. There have been two UEFA Champions League finals staged at Wembley since its reopening in 2007, with Barcelona prevailing in 2011 and Bayern triumphant two years later.

Portugal v France - Final: UEFA Euro 2016
The hosts packed out the Stade de France for the 2016 final with Portugal | Clive Rose/Getty Images

The final has previously been hosted by 13 different venues in 12 countries.

1960: Parc des Princes, Paris (France)
1964: Estadio Santiago Bernabéu, Madrid (Spain)
1968: Stadio Olimpico, Rome (Italy)
1972: Roi Baudouin, Brussels (Belgium)
1976: Stadion FK Crvena zvezda, Belgrade (Yugoslavia)
1980: Stadio Olimpico, Rome (Italy)
1984: Parc des Princes, Paris (France)
1988: Olympiastadion, Munich (Germany)
1992: Ullevi, Gothenburg (Sweden)
1996: Wembley Stadium, London (England)
2000: Feijenoord Stadium, Rotterdam (Netherlands)
2004: Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica, Lisbon (Portugal)
2008: Ernst-Happel-Stadion, Vienna (Austria)
2012: NSK Olimpiyskyi, Kyiv (Ukraine)
2016: Stade de France, Saint-Denis (France)

Source of the article

Author: XenBet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *