Juventus 2021/22 preview: Transfers, key player, fixtures, new kits, prediction & more

Juventus endured a torrid season last time out, only just sneaking into the Champions League qualification places on the final day.

They also struggled in Europe, falling at the first knockout hurdle to FC Porto on away goals. The only solace from this horror show was their Coppa Italia victory over Atalanta.

Att1...

Unsurprisingly Andrea Pirlo was dismissed at the end of the season with Juventus turning to their ex, Max Allegri, to steady the ship.

So have they got enough to reclaim the Serie A title this season? 90min had a look at everything Juve to find out.

In: Weston McKennie (£15m)

Out: Cristian Romero (£14.4m), Merih Demiral (loan), Gianluigi Buffon (free), Gianluca Frabotta (loan), Stefano Gori (loan), Marko Pjaca (loan)

1. Wojciech Szczesny (GK)
2. Mattia De Sciglio (DF)
3. Giorgio Chiellini (DF)
4. Matthijs de Ligt (DF)
5. Arthur (MF)
6. Danilo (DF)
7. Cristiano Ronaldo (FW)
8. Aaron Ramsey (MF)
9. Alvaro Morata (FW)
10. Paulo Dybala (FW)
11. Juan Cuadrado (MF)
12. Alex Sandro (DF)
14. Weston McKennie (MF)
17. Luca Pellegrini (DF)
20. Leonardo Bonucci (DF)
22. Federico Chiesa (MF)
23. Carlo Pinsoglio (GK)
24. Daniele Rugani (DF)
25. Adrien Rabiot (MF)
30. Rodrigo Bentancur (MF)
34. Nicolo Fagioli (MF)
36. Mattia Perin (GK)
37. Radu Dragusin (DF)
41. Hans Nicolussi Caviglia (MF)
44. Dejan Kulusevski (FW)

Federico Chiesa

Chiesa will reach the next level this season / Jonathan Moscrop/Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo remains a world-class finisher but this season Federico Chiesa is going to be the key man in making Juventus click going forward.

Chiesa is the complete package combining technique, pace and trickery to dazzle defenders. However, what really sets him apart is his superb decision making in the final third.

He comes into the campaign off the back of a terrific Euro 2020 and looks ready to explode to the next level in Turin this season.

Dejan Kulusevski

Kulusevski was part of 90min’s Our 21 series this summer / Jonathan Moscrop/Getty Images

Despite his tender years Dejan Kulusevski was often Andrea Pirlo’s first option off the bench last season.

The 21-year-old produced some magic moments too, with a superb opener in his side’s Coppa Italia final triumph over Atalanta the undisputed highlight.

Blessed with both physical and technical gifts, Kulusevski is an extremely exciting player capable of playing in all manner of positions. His versatility means Allegri should be calling upon him as frequently as Pirlo did last season.

Sunday 22 August – 17:30 – Udinese (A)
Saturday 28 August – 19:45 – Empoli (H)
Saturday 11 September – TBC – Napoli (A)
Saturday 18 September- TBC – Milan (H)
Tuesday 21 September – TBC – Spezia (A)
Saturday 25 September – TBC – Sampdoria (H)
Saturday 2 October – TBC – Torino (A)
Saturday 16 October – TBC – Roma (H)
Saturday 23 October – TBC – Inter (A)
Tuesday 26 October – TBC – Sassuolo (H)
Saturday 30 October – TBC – Hellas Verona (A)
Sunday 7 November – TBC – Fiorentina (H)
Saturday 20 November – TBC – Lazio (A)
Saturday 27 November – TBC – Atalanta (H)
Tuesday 30 November – TBC – Salernitana (A)
Saturday 4 December – TBC – Genoa (H)
Saturday 11 December – TBC – Venezia (A)
Saturday 18 December – TBC – Bologna (A)
Tuesday 21 December – TBC – Cagliari (H)
Wednesday 5 January – TBC – Napoli (H)
Saturday 8 January – TBC – Roma (A)
Saturday 15 January – TBC – Udinese (H)
Saturday 22 January – TBC – Milan (A)
Saturday 5 February – TBC – Hellas Verona (H)
Saturday 12 February – TBC – Atalanta (A)
Saturday 19 February – TBC – Torino (H)
Saturday 26 February – TBC – Empoli (A)
Saturday 5 March – TBC – Spezia (H)
Saturday 12 March – TBC – Sampdoria (A)
Saturday 19 March – TBC – Salernitana (H)
Saturday 2 April – TBC – Inter (H)
Saturday 9 April – TBC – Cagliari (A)
Friday 15 April – TBC – Bologna (H)
Saturday 23 April – TBC – Sassuolo (A)
Saturday 30 April – TBC – Venezia (H)
Saturday 7 May – TBC – Genoa (A)
Saturday 14 May – TBC – Lazio (H)
Saturday 21 May – TBC – Fiorentina (A)

Home: Pretty meh, to be honest.

Away: Modelled by Romy.

Third: TBC (leaks suggest it will be yellow and blue…and very ugly).

Juventus v Atalanta - Pre-Season Friendly

Juventus will likely win the title this season / Daniele Badolato – Juventus FC/Getty Images

Juventus may not have done anything in the transfer market but under Allegri’s more astute management they should reclaim the Serie A title this season.

Inter’s summer fire sale means they are much weaker than last campaign and Milan have not done anything in the summer that suggests they’ll mount a serious challenge. Furthermore, Atalanta have lost a few key players and probably don’t have the legs either. Napoli are the same.

All of this should give Juventus a pretty easy ride. They should not expect to do much in Europe, though. There are a long list of Champions League sides that are a lot stronger than them on paper, meaning they will have to rely on getting an easy draw to progress.

Serie A title win and Champions League quarter-final

Source of the article

Author: XenBet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *