Liverpool squad: Confirmed shirt numbers for 2022/23

Some unexpected upheaval means there will be a new look to the Liverpool lineup when the 2022/23 season gets underway, and that means a shakeup in the squad number department.

Despite the club’s best efforts a key member of the Reds’ deadly attack has headed for pastures new, with Sadio Mane signing for Bayern Munich – freeing up the number ten shirt. Takumi Minamino has also been sold having been a bit-part player in two-and-a-half years at Anfield, while cult hero Divock Origi has left as a free agent at the end of his contract.


However, Liverpool have continued their future-proofing when it comes to incomings. They moved quickly to land coveted Benfica frontman Darwin Nunez, and impressive Fulham youngster Fabio Carvalho has officially signed on. 18-year-old flying full-back Calvin Ramsay has also joined from Aberdeen.

Another huge piece of business has been securing talisman Mohamed Salah’s long-term future, with the Egyptian penning a new contract at Anfield.

Here are Liverpool’s squad numbers for the 2022/23 season as it stands…

Shirt numbers subject to change during pre-season

1 – Alisson Becker (GK)
3 – Fabinho
4 – Virgil van Dijk
5 – Ibrahima Konate
6 – Thiago Alcantara
7 – James Milner
8 – Naby Keita
9 – Roberto Firmino
11 – Mohamed Salah
12 – Joe Gomez
13 – Adrian (GK)
14 – Jordan Henderson
15 – Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain
17 – Curtis Jones
19 – Harvey Elliott
20 – Diogo Jota
21 – Kostas Tsimikas
22 – Calvin Ramsay
23 – Luis Diaz
24 – Ben Davies
26 – Andy Robertson
27 – Darwin Nunez
28 – Fabio Carvalho
32 – Joel Matip
46 – Rhys Williams
47 – Nat Phillips
49 – Kaide Gordon
52 – Isaac Mabaya
54 – Liam Hughes (GK)
62 – Caoimhin Kelleher (GK)
63 – Owen Beck
66 – Trent Alexander-Arnold
76 – Neco Williams
77 – James Norris
78 – Jarell Quansah
80 – Tyler Morton
82 – Max Woltman
86 – Harvey Blair
94 – Melkamu Frauendorf
95 – Harvey Davies (GK)

New signings Nunez, Carvalho and Ramsay have taken the 27, 28 and 22 respectively.

Although there are plenty of others available, the most realistic that a new first-team signing might take are…

As long as it is unique within their squad, Premier League players can wear any number between one and 99, although tradition dictates that you will usually see first-teamers donning one to about 30 – barring a few exceptions.

Former Man City midfielder Manu Garcia and Liverpool’s very own Neco Williams share the record for highest shirt number in Premier League history, with both wearing the number 76 shirt.

Also following tradition, goalkeepers will generally occupy numbers one and 13.

Premier League players cannot wear the number zero – and that’s fair enough because it would be a bit silly.

Premier League players are only allowed to change their squad number during pre-season or if one is sold or loaned to another club in the January transfer window.

Clubs must submit their confirmed squad list – including shirt numbers – by a specified deadline each year, and numbers cannot be changed thereafter. In 2021 that deadline was 1 September.

Source of the article

Author: XenBet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *