Man Utd confirm squad numbers for 2021/22 season

Manchester United have confirmed four changes to their squad numbers for the 2021/22 season ahead of Saturday’s meeting with Leeds.

We’ve already seen new winger Jadon Sancho take the 25 shirt, but what’s less certain is which number will be given to incoming centre-back Raphael Varane, whose move from Real Madrid has been dragging on for what feels like an eternity.


There have been suggestions that Varane could take the number 19 shirt, and those feelings only grew with United‘s recent announcement on their official website that Amad Diallo has given up that shirt in favour of taking 16.

19, the number Varane wore when he first joined Real all the way back in 2011, remains vacant. Make of that what you will.

Elsewhere, goalkeeper Tom Heaton has taken the number 22 which was left behind by Sergio Romero, who left the club upon the expiry of his contract last season.

There have also been a handful of changes for the young forwards in Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s squad. Anthony Elanga has been upgraded from 56 to 36, and Shola Shoretire has been bumped up from 74 to 47.

Varane will be added to the list at some point when his arrival is finally confirmed, and there could be some spots freed up by any departures that pop up before the end of the transfer window.

Amad Diallo

Amad has freed up number 19 / Matthew Ashton – AMA/Getty Images

Amad may end up vacating his 16 shirt as he is likely to leave Old Trafford on loan in the coming weeks, and the same fate could meet both Elanga and Shoretire, who are on the fringes of Solskjaer’s first-team squad.

1. David de Gea (GK)

2. Victor Lindelof (DF)

3. Eric Bailly (DF)

4. Phil Jones (DF)

5. Harry Maguire (DF)

6. Paul Pogba (MF)

7. Edinson Cavani (FW)

8. Juan Mata (MF)

9. Anthony Martial (FW)

10. Marcus Rashford (FW)

11. Mason Greenwood (FW)

13. Lee Grant (GK)

14. Jesse Lingard (MF)

15. Andreas Pereira (MF)

16. Amad Diallo (FW)

17. Fred (MF)

18. Bruno Fernandes (MF)

20. Diogo Dalot (DF)

21. Daniel James (MF)

22. Tom Heaton (GK)

23. Luke Shaw (DF)

25. Jadon Sancho (FW)

26. Dean Henderson (GK)

27. Alex Telles (DF)

29. Aaron Wan-Bissaka (DF)

31. Nemanja Matic (MF)

33. Brandon Williams (DF)

34. Donny van de Beek (MF)

36. Anthony Elanga (FW)

37. James Garner (MF)

39. Scott McTominay (MF)

43. Teden Mengi (DF)

47. Shola Shoretire (FW)

TBC. Raphael Varane (DF)

Source of the article

Author: XenBet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.